TIM, the 12-track posthumous album by Swedish producer Tim Bergling, otherwise known as Avicii, was finally released today. It is his first album release following his death on April 20th, 2018, and his third studio album following his 2015 album Stories. All net proceeds from TIM’s sales will go towards the Tim Bergling Foundation, a non-profit organization set up following Avicii’s suicide that benefits mental health, suicide prevention, and wildlife conservations.

Avicii was roughly two-thirds done with the album before his passing. His surviving parents, friends, and collaborators decided to use his lyrics, musical footprints, and notes to complete the album and share his final vision with his millions of fans around the world. The dozen of excellent tracks on the album illustrates how he had grown into that pop music powerhouse.

In TIM, Avicii explores Indian sounds, hip-hop, blissed-out harmonies, tropical vibes, and ominous strings, among tons of other explorative musical elements. His tracks all live and breathe and feel organic, boasting features from Chris Martin of Coldplay,  Imagine Dragons, and A R I Z O N A.

My personal favorite is “SOS” which reunites Avicii with Aloe Blacc, the artist who previously collaborated with Avicii on his biggest hit from 2013, “Wake Me Up.” In the track, despite Avicii’s declining mental health, the lyrics yet show his optimism: “I can feel your love pulling me up from the underground.” The track was previously released as a single on April 10th, 2019 alongside a heartwarming visual featuring fans explaining what Avicii’s music did for them.

We’ll never know what Avicii would have gone on to do in the world if he was still with us today, but his new album TIM leaves us with the feeling that he and his vision are still with us today. Rest in power Avicii, you’ll be with us forever.

Check out TIM below:


Leave a Reply